Fresh

The wind is fresh on my face. This is what I love about walking – the coolness, the freshness, the silver-bright world outside, and the living warmth inside as I work every muscle just to keep moving. It feels right. Sitting idle feels like a slow death; walking brings a stillness, and the rest after a day on foot is real rest: sweet, healing rest.

I pause and look back. I’ve come such a long way in this short time. My heart rises as I think that it’s just the start, that there are so many miles still to go, all unknown.

My feet are burning from standing still. I turn my face to the road ahead and walk on.

Leave a Reply

