Mile by mile

Back on the road, the beach behind me, and ahead, an expanse of dark bog, a lowering sky and a lurid horizon. The wind blows in sudden gusts.

The sun drops below the clouds, and they are suddenly gilded, a shimmer of gold stretched across their dark undersides. The heather glows red and the road gains bars of light and shadow.

The real journey starts here. The summer joy of the first days seems far behind; I know their will be other days like that, but today has a sombre mood. I don’t know how many miles I have to go, or even what I will find when I finally arrive. I don’t know what I will encounter on the way, or even if I can make it.  I only know, step by step and mile by mile, I have to go on.

No.

I choose to go on.

Leave a Reply

